
The test
Adobe's newsroom announced on 11 September 2024 that it was previewing an upcoming Firefly Video Model ahead of a waitlist-gated beta, extending Adobe's existing family of Firefly generative models from images and design into video generation and editing tools such as Text-to-Video and Generative Extend.
What the evidence says
The September 2024 announcement states the video model was 'designed to be commercially safe' and is 'only trained on content we have permission to use -- never on Adobe customer content,' a claim specific to that preview and stated in less detail than Adobe's current general Firefly product page, which states that Firefly models broadly are 'trained on licensed content from Adobe Stock and public domain content where copyright has expired, and Adobe does not train on users' personal or generated content.' Read together, the two documents show a consistent position -- permission-based training, no use of customer content -- but the September 2024 release does not itself specify 'licensed Adobe Stock and expired-copyright public domain content' for the video model by name. That fuller description sits on the current product page rather than in the original announcement, and a reader should not assume the two statements are interchangeable without confirming the product page's claim covers the video model specifically. The announcement also discloses a separate, unrelated figure: 'Adobe Firefly has been used to generate over 12 billion images globally,' a self-reported cumulative count for image generation, not video.
The sample and the variance
The September 2024 post announced a preview with a waitlist, not general availability, and Adobe's own release does not state exactly when the model exited beta. The 'commercially safe' language is Adobe's own marketing and legal framing, not an independent audit of the training data or a court finding about copyright status, and the 12-billion-image figure covers Firefly's image tools cumulatively, saying nothing about the video model's own usage volume.
What to try next
As an editorial checklist, a short-form producer evaluating an AI video tool for commercial work can treat Adobe's commercially-safe claim as the vendor's own documented training-data position worth comparing against a project's actual risk tolerance, rather than as a substitute for confirming licensing terms for the specific output at hand.
- Does the current product documentation confirm the licensed-and-public-domain training claim applies specifically to the video model, not just Firefly's image tools?
- Has Adobe published a separate release marking the video model's exit from waitlist-gated beta into general availability?
- Does the platform where the finished short-form video will run have its own separate AI-content labeling requirement, per that platform's own documentation?
A vendor's preview announcement and its current product page can both be true and still describe two different moments in the same product's life. Checking which one is being cited matters as much as the claim itself.
Sources & limits
- Adobe Previews its Upcoming Firefly Video Model ↗
States the preview announcement, its waitlist-gated beta status, the training-permission claim and the 12-billion-image figure.
Source · Source date: 2024-09-11 · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16 - Adobe Firefly. Create stunning content faster. ↗
States Adobe's current, more specific commercially-safe and licensed-training-data claim for Firefly models generally.
Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16