
The test
CapCut, a widely used short-form editing app, publishes two separate documents governing paid use: a pricing help page and a terms of service. The pricing page, How much does CapCut Pro cost, is dated 3 April 2026 by its own article marker. The separate CapCut Terms of Service sets out what happens to content a user uploads to the platform, independent of which pricing tier that user is on.
What the evidence says
The pricing page is unusual for declining to publish a number at all. It states 'the pricing for CapCut Pro can vary depending on your region, device, and available promotions', that the app 'usually offers monthly and yearly subscription plans', and directs users to check current pricing 'on the web, pc and mobile phones' rather than stating a figure this record could carry forward. That is a deliberate choice documented by CapCut itself, meaning no single price should be quoted from this source past the date retrieved. The terms of service is more specific about content rights: it states 'we don't own your User Content' and ownership does not change, but uploading content grants CapCut and its affiliates 'an unconditional, non-exclusive, royalty-free, fully transferable, sub-licensable, perpetual and worldwide license' to use, modify and distribute it, extending to sound recordings and musical works 'on a royalty-free basis'.
The sample and the variance
Both documents are CapCut's own living pages and describe the terms as retrieved on 16 September 2026; the pricing page's explicit region and device variability means even a screenshot of a shown price would not generalize past the account and location it was taken from. The terms-of-service license language is broad by its own wording, covering user content generally rather than distinguishing free-tier from Pro-tier uploads, and the record does not state whether CapCut has ever exercised the full scope of that license in a way a user could observe.
What to try next
As an editorial reading, a creator or business deciding whether to standardize on CapCut should check the in-app or account-specific price at purchase time rather than relying on any previously reported figure, since the company's own documentation states the price is variable and undisclosed. Anyone concerned about content rights, particularly music they do not want broadly relicensed, should read the license grant directly rather than assume free-tier and Pro-tier uploads are treated differently, since the clause as retrieved draws no such distinction.
- What does the in-app or account-specific pricing screen show right now, given the company's own statement that price varies by region and device?
- Does the broad license granted over uploaded content, including musical works, change under a Pro subscription, or does it apply uniformly?
- Has either document's text changed since the 3 April 2026 dated pricing page and the terms of service as retrieved on 16 September 2026?
The two documents together describe a company that is specific about what rights it takes over uploaded content and deliberately vague about what it charges for the software that uploads it, and neither figure should be treated as fixed without a fresh check.
Sources & limits
- How much does CapCut Pro cost ↗
States that CapCut Pro pricing varies by region, device and promotion, and that the company does not publish a fixed price on this page.
Source · Source date: 2026-04-03 · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16 - CapCut Terms of Service ↗
States that users retain content ownership but grant a broad, royalty-free, perpetual license to CapCut over uploaded content, including musical works.
Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16