The test
TikTok's Ads Manager help center publishes a specification sheet for its most common paid placement, in-feed ads. The article, TikTok Auction In-Feed Ads, states it was last updated in June 2026 and lists two creative paths inside the same auction: Spark Ads, which boost an existing organic post, and Non-Spark ads, uploaded directly as new ad creative. The document is TikTok's own operational guidance for advertisers, not a description of what organic posting requires.
What the evidence says
For Non-Spark ads, the help article sets a fixed grid: vertical 9:16 at least 540 by 960 pixels is 'recommended', horizontal 16:9 at a minimum of 960 by 540 and square 1:1 at a minimum of 640 by 640 are also accepted. It caps file formats to .mp4, .mov, .mpeg, .3gp and .avi, sets duration up to ten minutes, file size at or under 500MB, and a bitrate floor of 516 kbps. Spark Ads carry none of that grid: captions are 'extracted directly from the organic video captions', format is limited to .mp4 or .mov, and duration has 'no restrictions'. That is a platform disclosure of its own product rules, not a test of what performs better. A second page, TikTok's Creative Center help article, describes a different resource: a discovery and inspiration tool built around trending content and a generative tool called Symphony Creative Studio, with no technical spec sheet. TikTok routes advertisers to Ads Manager help for compliance thresholds and to Creative Center for inspiration, as two separate tracks.
The sample and the variance
This record covers only auction in-feed placement inside TikTok Ads Manager as stated on the date retrieved. It does not describe TopView, TopFeed reservation buys or the Pangle network, each documented on its own page. It is a living document: the 'last updated' marker means the pixel minimums, bitrate floor and file-size cap can change without a new announcement. Nothing here states a rejection rate; it only states published thresholds.
What to try next
This is an editorial reading, not a performance claim. A marketer preparing dedicated ad creative can use the Non-Spark grid as a compliance checklist, since falling under the pixel or bitrate minimums risks a rejected or downscaled asset. A brand with a well-performing organic post can consider Spark Ads instead, since it inherits the organic file and caption rather than a new export. Either way, the page should be re-checked at time of use, since it is dated and marked as subject to revision.
- Is this creative a new upload (Non-Spark) or a boosted existing post (Spark), since the two follow different rules entirely?
- Does the current help article still show the same pixel minimums, bitrate floor and file-size cap as this record?
- Is the placement actually auction in-feed, or a reservation or network placement with its own specification page?
None of this describes which format performs better. It describes what TikTok's Ads Manager documentation currently requires before an in-feed ad is eligible to run, and that a Spark Ad's organic origin exempts it from the upload grid a freshly produced ad must clear.
Sources & limits
- TikTok Auction In-Feed Ads ↗
States the Non-Spark technical spec grid (dimensions, formats, duration, file size, bitrate) and the separate, unrestricted Spark Ads rules, with a June 2026 last-updated marker.
Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16 - TikTok Creative Center (help article) ↗
Establishes that Creative Center is a trend-discovery and generative-creative tool, distinct from the Ads Manager specification page, confirming the two-track documentation split.
Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16