Independent short-form field notesLocal review edition · 19 September 2026
Short-Form Research

Creation & formats / Source record

Riverside's tiers gate export quality, not recording time

Riverside's own pricing page keeps recording hours unlimited on every tier and charges instead for resolution and downloads.

Visual for this record: Riverside's tiers gate export quality, not recording time
Visual published by cdn.prod.website-files.com, shown for identification of the record. Credit: cdn.prod.website-files.com · Original source ↗REFERENCE ONLY — NOT CLEARED FOR PRODUCTION · owner review pending
Historical context. This record is preserved from the September 16 archive. A new page layout does not mean every original claim was reverified. Event dates describe the subject, not when this site published it.

The test

Riverside's own pricing page, read as a living document on 16 September 2026, lists a Free plan and four paid tiers -- Pro, Grow, Webinar and a custom Business tier -- for its browser-based, locally recorded remote-interview tool, the kind of high-fidelity two-camera setup used to produce interview-style short-form clips before they are cut down. The product's own homepage describes the underlying mechanic: each participant's audio and video is captured locally on their own device rather than compressed through a live call.

What the evidence says

The pricing page's own comparison table draws its tier lines around export quality and volume rather than time in front of the camera. Recording hours are listed as 'Unlimited' on every tier including Free, and local recording is available on every tier alike. What changes by tier is desktop video quality -- Free tops out at 720p while Pro, Grow, Webinar and Business all list 'Up to 4K' -- and the monthly volume of separate audio-and-video track downloads, rising from a one-off 2 hours on Free to 15, 20 and 25 hours across the paid tiers before Business lists 'Unlimited.' Monthly list prices on the page read $29 for Pro and $39 for Grow at standard billing, discounted to $24 and $34 respectively when billed annually, with Webinar listed at $99 monthly or $79 annually and Business quoted only as a custom, demo-gated price. The homepage's own claim that participants 'capture up to 4K video and uncompressed audio in separate tracks, unaffected by internet connection' matches the pricing table's quality figures rather than contradicting them.

The sample and the variance

This is Riverside's current pricing as retrieved, not a historical snapshot, and every figure is self-published rather than third-party verified. The tool's studio-count limits, such as one simultaneous Studio on Pro, apply to concurrent live sessions rather than to total recorded output, a distinction the page states directly rather than one inferred here. The record says nothing about competing remote-recording tools' equivalent tiers or pricing.

What to try next

As an editorial reading of the page rather than a recommendation, a creator deciding between tiers can treat the unlimited recording-hours figure as the constant across tiers and treat export quality and monthly download volume as the actual variables worth checking against a planned production schedule before committing to a paid tier.

  • Does the planned short-form output need 4K exports, or does 720p already meet the target platform's own upload ceiling?
  • How many hours of separate audio-and-video downloads does a typical production month actually use?
  • Has the annual-versus-monthly price gap changed since this 16 September 2026 reading of the page?

A recording tool's pricing page describes what it will let a subscriber export, not what that export will be worth once it is edited and published. Those remain two separate questions.

Sources & limits

  1. Plans & Pricing - Riverside ↗

    States tier-by-tier limits on video quality and monthly track-download hours, with recording hours unlimited on every tier.

    Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16
  2. Riverside: HD Podcast & Video Software | Free Recording & Editing ↗

    States the local-recording, uncompressed-track mechanic the pricing tiers are built around.

    Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16

Original source trail retained. Claims and media need owner review before release.