Independent short-form field notesLocal review edition · 19 September 2026
Short-Form Research

Creation & formats / Source record

Final Cut Pro now offers the subscription DaVinci Resolve refused

Blackmagic still sells DaVinci Resolve Studio as a one-time purchase, while Apple's Final Cut Pro now also offers a monthly plan.

Blackmagic Design’s promotional image of a colorist at a DaVinci Resolve workstation. Not a short-form setup recommendation or an in-house test.
Blackmagic Design’s promotional image of a colorist at a DaVinci Resolve workstation. Not a short-form setup recommendation or an in-house test. Credit: Blackmagic Design · Original source ↗REFERENCE ONLY — NOT CLEARED FOR PRODUCTION · owner review pending
Historical context. This record is preserved from the September 16 archive. A new page layout does not mean every original claim was reverified. Event dates describe the subject, not when this site published it.

The test

Above the mobile-only editing apps common in short-form production sits a professional tier, and two vendors document their own licensing terms for it. Blackmagic Design's product page for DaVinci Resolve Studio and Apple's page for Final Cut Pro each state, in the vendor's own words, how the software is licensed and where it runs, as retrieved on 16 September 2026.

What the evidence says

Blackmagic's page lists DaVinci Resolve Studio as a one-time purchase, stating 'Davinci Resolve Studio Buy Online Now $295', and describes the software as running on 'Mac, Windows and Linux', with GPU-acceleration paths for each: 'Metal and Apple Silicon unified memory GPUs on a Mac, or OpenCL and CUDA on Windows and Linux'. Apple's page shows a different, now dual-track model: Final Cut Pro is available through a subscription bundle, stated as '$12.99 per month or $129 per year' under what the page calls Apple Creator Studio, and separately 'also available as a one-time purchase for $299.99'. Platform availability is Apple-only but now spans two device types: Mac, requiring 'macOS 15.6 or later, 8GB of memory (16GB recommended)', and iPad, requiring 'iPadOS 18.6 or later and an iPad with Apple M1 chip or later, iPad (A16), or iPad mini (A17 Pro)'. Each page is the vendor's own current licensing statement, not an independent comparison of editing capability between the two tools.

The sample and the variance

The record covers only these two vendors' own stated terms as retrieved; it does not compare feature parity, rendering performance, or export formats between DaVinci Resolve Studio and Final Cut Pro. Apple's page states some Final Cut Pro capabilities, such as Visual Search and Transcript Search, carry additional Apple silicon requirements beyond the baseline OS version, which this record does not fully enumerate. Both pages are living documents and their prices, bundle names or minimum OS versions may change after this date without a dated revision note on either page.

What to try next

As an editorial observation rather than a recommendation, a cross-platform team, one running Windows or Linux machines alongside Mac, has only one of these two options available at all, since Final Cut Pro remains Apple-only by the vendor's own platform statement. A team already inside Apple's ecosystem now has a genuine choice between a single $299.99 purchase and an ongoing subscription bundle, a choice DaVinci Resolve Studio's page does not offer at all, since it lists only the one-time price.

  • Does the production environment include non-Apple hardware, which would rule out Final Cut Pro regardless of its pricing model?
  • For an Apple-only shop, does the subscription bundle's other included apps justify its ongoing cost over the one-time Final Cut Pro purchase?
  • Do the specific features needed, such as Visual Search, require the additional Apple silicon hardware the page notes separately from the base OS requirement?

The clearest documented contrast is licensing philosophy: Blackmagic continues to sell DaVinci Resolve Studio as a single paid-once product across three operating systems, while Apple has added a subscription option alongside its existing one-time purchase, without extending Final Cut Pro beyond its own hardware.

Sources & limits

  1. DaVinci Resolve Studio product page ↗

    States DaVinci Resolve Studio's one-time $295 price and its Mac, Windows and Linux availability with platform-specific GPU acceleration.

    Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16
  2. Final Cut Pro product page ↗

    States Final Cut Pro's dual pricing (subscription bundle or one-time $299.99 purchase) and its Mac and iPad system requirements.

    Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16

Original source trail retained. Claims and media need owner review before release.