The test
Meta's Instagram Creators blog, in a case study archived by the Wayback Machine, describes one creator's experience in the Reels Play bonus programme: an invite-only mechanism in which a creator who 'got access to the Reels Play bonus program' earned money by meeting 'view target' challenges, and who, in the post's words, 'regularly met his target challenges on Reels Play and earned his full bonus.' The live Instagram Creators site, retrieved 16 September 2026, now documents a broader, separately named Bonuses programme that 'reward[s] you for the performance of your reels and photos, including carousels and single image posts,' and states plainly that 'Bonuses are limited time and invite-only as we build toward a sustainable program.'
What the evidence says
The case study is a self-reported creator account distributed by Meta's own creator marketing team, not an audited earnings disclosure; its figures, including a stated income share and a follower-growth percentage, carry a footnote marker in the original page indicating a qualification Meta does not spell out in the visible text. The current Bonuses page is a living document that never names 'Reels Play' specifically, describing only a present-tense programme covering reels and photo formats. Read together, the two pages establish that an invite-only, target-based bonus structure existed and, in some form, still exists, without either page giving a continuous history connecting the two by name.
The sample and the variance
Neither reviewed page states when the Reels Play bonus programme began or ended, nor how many creators were invited; the case study describes a single participant's outcome, which cannot support a claim about typical results. The current Bonuses page likewise discloses no view thresholds, payout caps, or acceptance rate, only that access is 'limited time and invite-only.' Any dollar or percentage figure tied to the older programme in secondary reporting is not confirmed by the Meta pages examined here.
What to try next
This is an editorial caution, not a monetization guide. A creator evaluating an invitation-only bonus should treat a single case study as illustrative rather than representative, since Meta's own footnote marker signals a qualification on the figures; a researcher tracking programme history should note that Meta's current documentation does not itself preserve the Reels Play name, making continuity claims a matter of inference; and anyone citing a specific payout figure for this programme should trace it to a Meta-published rate rather than a creator anecdote.
- Does the platform's current documentation still use the original programme's name, or has it been folded into a broader one?
- Is a cited earnings figure a single creator's self-reported result or a platform-disclosed average?
- What does an 'invite-only, limited-time' label imply about how representative any public case study can be?
What survives in Meta's own record is a shape, invite-only access gated on performance, rather than a fixed history: the name 'Reels Play' appears in a 2022-archived creator story and nowhere in the current Bonuses documentation.
Sources & limits
- How Colton Merrifield grew his following and income with Reels Play (archived) ↗
Self-reported creator case study describing invite-only access and view-target-based Reels Play bonus payouts.
Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16 - Earn with Bonuses | Instagram for Creators ↗
Current living documentation describing the invite-only, limited-time Bonuses programme covering reels and photos.
Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16