Independent short-form field notesLocal review edition · 19 September 2026
Short-Form Research

Monetization / Source record

Facebook folded three payout tools into one beta

Meta's 2024 newsroom post merges in-stream ads, Reels ads and bonuses into one invite-only beta program.

Visual published with the cited source for this record: Facebook folded three payout tools into one beta
Visual published with the cited source, shown for identification of the record. Credit: about.fb.com · Original source ↗REFERENCE ONLY — NOT CLEARED FOR PRODUCTION · owner review pending
Historical context. This record is preserved from the September 16 archive. A new page layout does not mean every original claim was reverified. Event dates describe the subject, not when this site published it.

The test

On 2 October 2024, Meta published a newsroom post announcing Facebook Content Monetization, described as a beta that merges 'In-stream ads, Ads on Reels and the Performance Bonus' into a single programme. Meta said creators using the beta could 'monetize multiple formats,' listing 'Reels, longer videos, photo and text posts,' and that earnings would remain 'tied to how your eligible content performs,' calling it the same 'performance-based payout model' as the tools it replaces. The rollout was staged: Meta said it was 'starting to send invitations to one million creators already monetizing on Facebook to join the beta,' while stating that 'open enrollment won't be available until 2025.'

What the evidence says

This is Meta's own account of a consolidation, not an independent audit of how earnings changed for any individual creator; the post states which programmes are being merged and to how many creators invitations were sent, but it does not disclose a payout formula or a rate comparison against the three tools it replaces. Meta's later, separate March 2026 post on original-content rewards confirms Facebook kept building on this same monetization base rather than replacing it again, describing new reach and demonetization rules layered on top of an existing system, without stating that the 2024 beta itself had closed.

The sample and the variance

The one-million-creator figure describes invitations sent to 'creators already monetizing on Facebook,' a population that excludes creators not yet monetizing under the prior tools; Meta does not disclose, in the post reviewed, an acceptance rate or a timeline for when invited creators actually gained access. 'Open enrollment... until 2025' is a stated intention, not a confirmed date, and the post gives no payout range for the merged programme, only a description of which formats now count.

What to try next

This is an editorial checklist, not a payout estimate. A creator already monetizing on Facebook can reasonably check whether an invitation to the beta has arrived rather than assuming automatic enrollment; a marketer or publisher can treat 'performance-based payout model' as a continuation of Meta's existing mechanics rather than a new rate structure; and anyone tracking the rollout should watch for Meta's own confirmation of the 2025 open-enrollment date rather than assuming it held.

  • Which of the three merged formats, in-stream ads, Reels ads, or the Performance Bonus, did your account previously use?
  • Has Meta confirmed open enrollment beyond the invited one million creators?
  • Does a payout change you have noticed trace to this consolidation, or to a separate policy update?

Meta's own framing treats consolidation as the news: three named tools became one beta, with the payout logic held constant and the invitation list, not a new formula, doing the work of the rollout.

Sources & limits

  1. Introducing Facebook Content Monetization: A New, Streamlined Program ↗

    States which prior programmes are merged, the one-million-creator invitation rollout, and the 2025 open-enrollment target.

    Source · Source date: 2024-10-02 · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16
  2. Rewarding original creators on Facebook ↗

    Shows Meta layering a later originality policy on the same monetization base without stating the 2024 beta closed.

    Source · Source date: 2026-03-13 · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16

Original source trail retained. Claims and media need owner review before release.