
The test
Snap's help center article "About Snapchat's Monetization Program" sets out the thresholds a creator must clear before Spotlight earnings apply: at least 50,000 followers, 15,000 hours of view time across the account in the last 28 days with at least 3,000 of those hours from Spotlight specifically, an age of at least 18 or the local age of majority, residence in an eligible country, and Snap Star status as a separate, named requirement. A creator must also reach at least 100 hours of Total Spotlight View Time in the trailing 28 days to qualify for maximum Creator Rewards, and the minimum cash-out is $100, available daily once reached.
What the evidence says
Snap's separate Creator Monetization Policy adds the content standard behind those numbers: it requires original, engaging content that reflects clear creative effort and unique perspective, requires transformative additions to any reposted material, and explicitly prohibits repetitive, formulaic or unoriginal template-based content along with unaltered television or film clips and engagement bait built on misleading tiles. The same policy states that failing to meet these standards can make an account ineligible for payment or lead to suspension. Both documents are Snap's own program rules, retrieved as they read on 16 September 2026; neither is a payout report, and neither states what share of eligible creators actually reach the thresholds it sets.
The sample and the variance
The thresholds describe Snap's stated eligibility floor for its monetization program broadly, not a guaranteed income level, an average payout, or a specific creator's likely earnings. The 28-day rolling windows for both the 15,000-hour and 100-hour thresholds mean eligibility can lapse as well as start, and neither document states a typical time to first payout or a distribution of what qualifying creators actually earn once past the gates.
What to try next
As an editorial reading, a creator evaluating Spotlight should treat the follower and view-time thresholds as necessary, stated conditions rather than a target that itself produces income, since Snap's own documents attach the money to sustained Spotlight-specific watch time and to a separate content-standards test, not to reach alone. Checking Snap Star status and the current country list before investing further time avoids acting on a threshold that may not apply in a given market.
- Does your account currently meet all five named thresholds at once, not just the follower count?
- Would any of your recent Spotlight submissions fall under the policy's prohibited categories, such as unaltered reposts?
- Is your 28-day rolling view-time total trending toward or away from the 100-hour maximum-rewards threshold?
Snap's own documents describe a program with specific, checkable gates and an explicit content standard behind them; they do not promise a payout amount, and neither document should be read as one.
Sources & limits
- About Snapchat's Monetization Program ↗
States the follower, view-time, age, country and Snap Star eligibility thresholds and the $100 minimum cash-out.
Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16 - Creator Monetization Policy ↗
States the originality content standard and that non-compliant accounts may become ineligible for payment.
Source · Source publication date not stated · Archive retrieval: 2026-09-16